AitB Forums Sussex Downs Laurie R. King’s Series So… do you guys recommend the Mary Russell series?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Le Chat Noir Le Chat Noir 2 years, 2 months ago.

• Author

Vidocq
    Participant

I really wonder why this didn’t become huge with the Sherlock Holmes boom recently, a YA Sherlock Holmes novel about a smart, liberal, nerdy girl who is mentored by Holmes into become a world class sleuth. It’s as if the #SherlockHolmes in Tumblr had a premise. I’ve always been curious, but I’ve been putting off giving it a try since 2008 when I first heard about it in H.net. Would you guys recommend it?

You can read my movie reviews in spanish at SofaPerdido.net

ScarletSherlock
    ScarletSherlock

I personally really love the first couple of books. I credit (blame?) Russell for getting me back into Holmes after a long hiatus from about age 10 to age 19. I loved her at first! She was awkward and gawky just like me, and the first book made her really interesting and made Holmes quite accessible. Then King had to go and marry them off, and my interest began to wane. There is never anything like an explicit love scene between them, not in any of the books, but Russell became increasingly dislikeable to me over the course of the series. I would say I love everything from The Beekeeper’s Apprentice to The Game, but she lost me after that. I especially enjoyed listening to the audio versions read by Jenny Sterlin – she has a feel for all of the characters and does a really good Holmes, in addition to Russell.

I have nothing but respect for Laurie R. King. I’ve met her twice and she is lovely; additionally, she knows her Canon so well and she has quite the sense of humor about her own character. I know our own Solitary Cyclist is a big fan; there were quite a lot of Russell fans on HN. I would absolutely recommend the first book, and then decide yourself if you want to go on from there.